Skip to content

Probiotics Ireland: what should you check?

Published · By Tigoo redaktionSupplements

Short answer

Check the exact strain name, the CFU per serving, and whether the count is guaranteed through the end of shelf life. Also confirm the intended use, storage instructions, and full ingredient list before you buy.

Quick facts

  • A probiotic is a live microorganism taken in an adequate amount.
  • Genus, species, and strain all matter on the label.
  • CFU means colony-forming units and shows the viable count.
  • More CFU is not automatically better.
  • The count should ideally be stated through the end of shelf life.
  • Storage instructions and the exact intended use should be clear.
Probiotics Ireland: what should you check?

What are probiotics and how do they work?

Start with the definition, not the marketing word

A probiotic is a live microorganism that, when taken in an adequate amount, confers a health benefit. The useful label check is the exact organism name: genus, species and strain, because species alone are not enough and effects found for one strain cannot automatically be assigned to another. NIH ODS Probiotics fact sheet

That is why a strain identifier such as GG matters more than a loose category name. It is also why a shopper should treat “probiotic” as a description of a studied organism, not as proof that every live-culture product behaves the same way. NIH ODS Probiotics fact sheet

What they may do in the gut

NIH ODS describes plausible, partly strain-dependent actions in the gut: probiotics may inhibit pathogens, produce antimicrobial substances and metabolites, affect acidity, and support the intestinal barrier. The same source notes that some organisms may persist only transiently and that responses differ between people. NIH ODS Probiotics fact sheet

That means the mechanism on paper is not the same as a guaranteed result for a shopper. A practical expectation is that a product is being assessed for a specific strain and a specific use, not for a permanent, one-size-fits-all effect. NIH ODS Probiotics fact sheet

What to check first on the pack

CheckWhy it matters
Exact strain IDSpecies names alone are not enough for a probiotic label. NIH ODS Probiotics fact sheet
CFU per servingCFU means colony-forming units, the viable count; a weight in milligrams does not tell you how many microorganisms are alive. NIH ODS consumer guidance
Count through the end of shelf lifeLive counts can fall during storage, so the timing of the count matters. NIH ODS consumer guidance
Intended useThe evidence is strain-specific, so the pack should make clear what was actually studied. NIH ODS Probiotics fact sheet

More CFU is not automatically better, and NIH says there is no established daily reference intake or tolerable upper intake level for healthy people. The first questions are therefore: which strain is it, what was it studied for, and is the count stated at the end of shelf life rather than only at manufacture? NIH ODS consumer guidance

Key takeaway: the label has to do the work first; a probiotic is only meaningful when the strain, the amount and the studied use are all stated clearly. NIH ODS Probiotics fact sheet

What do research and authorised claims actually support?

EFSA evaluates the science behind health claims, and the European Commission authorises only those claims that meet that standard. That matters because probiotic evidence is not a class-wide pass: the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements says products should identify the genus, species and strain, and that effects seen for one strain cannot automatically be assigned to another. It also notes that responses differ between people and that a plausible mechanism is not proof that a product works for a particular person or purpose. European Commission health claims overview NIH ODS probiotic label guidance

What do research and authorised claims actually support?
EFSA evaluates the science behind health claims, and the European Commission authorises only those claims that meet that standard.

Why study details matter

The best evidence is usually narrow. In ODS’s summary of L. rhamnosus GG, 12 trials with 1,499 participants used doses from 4 × 108 to 1.2 × 1011 CFU over 10 days to 3 months; the clear result was in children, not adults. ODS also summarises 21 trials of S. boulardii in 4,780 participants, with several doses studied but no clear dose-response pattern. Those data show why a label that only says “probiotic” does not tell you whether the product matches a specific study. NIH ODS evidence summary

What the EU actually authorises

The approved wording is narrow. For yoghurt or fermented milk, the authorised claim is that live cultures “improve digestion of lactose in that product in people who have difficulty digesting lactose”, and the product must contain at least 108 CFU/g of Lactobacillus delbrueckii subsp. bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus. That is a condition for one specific claim, not a blanket claim for all probiotic foods or supplements. European Commission authorised claim conditions Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012

What you seeWhat it tells youWhat it does not tell you
Strain name plus CFUA label that can be compared with a trial only if the strain, dose, route and population also matchThat another strain, dose or form will behave the same way
EU-authorised live-culture claimA claim with defined wording and conditionsAny broader gut, immunity or all-purpose probiotic claim

Why general wording is not enough

EFSA’s assessment of a four-microorganism intestinal-discomfort application is a good example of the limits: it could not establish cause and effect because one member of the mixture was not sufficiently characterised at strain level. A positive finding for one mixture therefore does not transfer to another mixture simply because both are sold as probiotics. EFSA scientific opinion on the four-microorganism mixture

Takeaway: if the strain, dose, route and population do not match the study, the study result does not travel with the label.

There is no single best probiotic for every goal, and no universal result from the word “probiotic” alone. European Commission health claims overview NIH ODS probiotic label guidance

Which probiotic should you check after antibiotics?

There is no universal “best” probiotic after antibiotics. The evidence depends on the exact strain, the population, and when it was taken. In the reviewed guidance, the better-studied candidates for antibiotic-associated diarrhoea were Lacticaseibacillus rhamnosus GG (LGG) and Saccharomyces boulardii, with use started with antibiotics or within two days of starting them in the studies reviewed by NIH ODS. NIH ODS probiotic fact sheet

What the label has to show

For this question, the label matters more than a high CFU number. Check the genus, species and strain, the CFU per stated serving, and whether that count is guaranteed through the end of shelf life. A product should also make clear whether it was studied during the antibiotic course, after it, or both; those are not interchangeable contexts. NIH ODS consumer guidance

Studied optionWho was studiedTiming in the evidenceWhat was reported
LGGChildren and adults in reviewed trialsStarted with antibiotics or within two daysReview of 12 trials reported AAD in 12.3% with LGG versus 22.4% in controls; the clearest benefit was in children, not adults. Source
S. boulardiiChildren and adults in reviewed trialsStarted with antibiotics or within two daysReview of 21 trials reported AAD in 8.2% versus 17.4% in adults and 8.8% versus 20.9% in children; the reviewed doses did not show a clear dose–response pattern. Source
Mixed probiotics in children33 trials, 6,352 childrenDuring antibiotic use and follow-up from 5 days to 12 weeksPubMed review reported 8% with probiotics versus 19% in controls; certainty was moderate and the organisms varied. Review

Takeaway: the label should match the studied strain and the studied timing; “more CFU” alone is not enough.

When not to self-manage

If diarrhoea is severe, bloody, or persistent for more than 5 days, HSE guidance says to seek advice and consider testing rather than relying on a supplement choice. The same applies if you feel systemically unwell or the illness follows antibiotics and raises concern for Clostridioides difficile. HSE infectious diarrhoea guidance

What should women in Ireland check on the label?

For women’s-health shopping, separate the question first: is the issue after antibiotics, and if so is it gut upset, vaginal symptoms, urinary symptoms, or more than one of those? The evidence is not one-size-fits-all.

What should women in Ireland check on the label?
For women’s-health shopping, separate the question first: is the issue after antibiotics, and if so is it gut upset, vaginal symptoms, urinary symptoms, or more than one of those?

Separate the goal before you compare products

A label that says “women’s” does not tell you whether the product was studied for vaginal microbiota, urinary symptoms, or digestive use. The clearest vaginal-bacterial-vaginosis recurrence study used Lactobacillus crispatus CTV-05, given vaginally after five days of metronidazole to 228 women aged 18–45; the dose was 2 × 109 CFU per vaginal application, daily for five days and then twice weekly for ten weeks Lactin-V trial report.

Studied settingRouteStrain code(s)Who was studiedLabel check
BV recurrence after antibiotic treatmentVaginalL. crispatus CTV-05228 women aged 18–45Exact strain code and vaginal use
Recurrent UTIVaginalL. crispatus CTV-05Premenopausal womenExact strain code and route
BV with metronidazoleOralL. rhamnosus GR-1 + L. reuteri RC-14Premenopausal womenBoth strain codes and oral dose

Look for strain-coded products, not just a blend name

For a shopper, the useful details are the genus, species and strain code, the route, and the dose used in the study. A product that only says “lactobacilli” or “women’s probiotic” does not show that it matches the women’s-health trials. In one oral trial, L. rhamnosus GR-1 plus L.

That is why the label needs a condition-specific rationale. The same pair was also studied in pregnancy at 2.5 × 109 CFU of each strain daily, and that trial found no reduction in BV at 18–20 weeks’ gestation: 19/123 (15%) versus 10/115 (9%) with placebo pregnancy microbiota trial.

For women’s health, check the exact strain, the route, and the studied setting before you look at the brand name.

Read the outcome next to the strain

That means the label question is not “Is it for women?” but “Which strain, by which route, in which population, and for which trial-defined use?” NIH ODS consumer guidance on probiotic labels

How do you compare Irish pharmacy and online options?

Compare probiotic products by strain transparency, CFU at expiry, storage requirements, and the exact use case named on the page—not by retailer name alone. NIH’s consumer guidance says to look for the genus, species and strain, and to check the colony-forming units per serving, preferably stated through the use-by date rather than only at manufacture, because live counts can fall during storage. NIH ODS consumer guidance on probiotic labels

For online purchases, EU food-information rules say mandatory food information must be available before purchase, except for the durability date, and all mandatory particulars must be available at delivery. EU supplement rules also require the recommended daily portion, the warning not to exceed it, and statements that the supplement does not replace a varied diet and should be kept out of young children’s reach. EU food information regulation EU food supplement directive

Check the page, then check the pack

What to checkWhat you need to see
Strain IDGenus, species and strain, not just “probiotic” or “lactobacillus”
ViabilityCFU per recommended serving, ideally through the use-by date
StorageRefrigeration or room-temperature instructions, if stated
Use caseThe exact product context named by the brand
IngredientsFull ingredient list and allergens

A pharmacy-style listing can be convenient, but if the page hides strain IDs or viability details, the product is hard to evaluate. A branded search result can be just as incomplete: look for product-specific strain information and the exact context the formula is meant for, then confirm that the delivered pack matches the page. NIH also notes that effects found for one strain cannot automatically be assigned to another. NIH ODS consumer guidance on probiotic labels

Boots-style pages and branded searches need the same scrutiny

When a page is mostly a retail listing, the convenience is real, but convenience is not a substitute for label detail. If the page does not show the strain, the CFU basis, or the storage instructions, you cannot compare it cleanly with another product. If the page is a brand-led result, make the same check: does it name the strain, state the intended product context, and show the full ingredient list, or only the brand and a general wellness phrase?

Do not rank probiotic options by shop name; rank each exact product by the strain, the CFU statement, the storage instructions, and the label details you can verify.

Why the online page and the delivered pack both matter

EU rules treat the online listing and the delivered pack as related but not identical sources of information: the listing must carry the mandatory particulars that are required before purchase, and the full mandatory information must be present at delivery. That is why a short snippet, a category page, or a search preview is not enough on its own. For comparison, use the product page, the pack, and the stated daily portion together. EU food information regulation

What is actually in Tigoo’s probiotic range?

The current Tigoo snapshot is dated 2026-10-03 and lists 1 probiotic product in the range. That count tells you how many items are shown, not whether a product is better, safer or more suitable than another. This page is a buying guide only: catalog data do not prove efficacy, safety or superiority.

What the snapshot shows

For a probiotic label to be useful, the key comparison fields are the genus, species and strain, plus the CFU per serving and whether that count is guaranteed through the use-by date. NIH ODS also notes that a stated weight does not tell you how many live organisms are present. NIH ODS probiotic label guidance

ItemFormPack countDeclared amountDisclosure status
Tigoo probiotic product (name not disclosed)Not disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedOnly the range total is shown: 1 product

What is missing from the disclosure

In this snapshot, the fields that make comparison easier are not shown: strain identifiers, storage instructions, and any count stated through the end of shelf life. Without those details, you can see that Tigoo carries one probiotic item, but you cannot compare it on the label features shoppers usually check.

EU supplement rules also require the recommended daily portion, a warning not to exceed it, and statements that supplements do not replace a varied diet and should be kept out of young children’s reach. EU food supplement rules

One listed product is not enough to compare a probiotic range properly unless the strain, serving size and expiry-count are disclosed.

How to use this page

Use the snapshot as a stock check, not as proof of effect or quality. If the product page or pack does not show the exact strain, the CFU per serving and the storage instructions, compare only the details that are actually printed rather than filling gaps with assumptions.

How do you read a probiotic label and choose the form?

Start with the organism, then the numbers

Look for the full name: genus, species and strain. NIH ODS says effects found for one strain cannot automatically be assigned to another, and that a stated weight in milligrams does not tell you how many microorganisms are alive. Check the colony-forming units (CFU) per recommended serving, and whether that count is stated at manufacture or guaranteed through the use-by date. Also check storage instructions, ingredients and allergens; EU supplement rules require the recommended daily portion and a warning not to exceed it, plus statements that supplements do not replace a varied diet and should be kept out of young children’s reach. EU supplement labelling rules

How do you read a probiotic label and choose the form?
Look for the full name: genus, species and strain.

More CFU is not automatically better. ODS describes 1–10 billion CFU per dose as common in supplements, but that is not a recommended daily intake. More strains is not automatically better either: the label still needs the exact strain identifiers, because benefits reported for one strain do not transfer to another.

Choose the form by reading the serving, not the package size

Capsules, sachets, tablets, powders, liquids and fermented dairy drinks all need the same basic check: what is the stated serving, and how many CFU does that serving contain? A capsule count is not a CFU count, and a tub, bottle or box size is not a daily portion. If a product gives a daily dose, compare the daily portion, not just the total container size.

FormWhat the label should tell youCommon mistake
CapsulesExact strain name, CFU per capsule or daily serving, storage conditionsBuying by capsule count alone
Sachets or powdersScoop or sachet size, CFU per serving, expiry or manufacture basisAssuming one scoop equals one daily dose
TabletsCFU per tablet and per recommended daily portionIgnoring whether the count is per tablet or per day
LiquidsServing volume, storage instructions, expiry-date count if givenOverlooking refrigeration or shelf-life guidance
Fermented dairy drinksLive-culture wording, serving size, use-by date, storage instructionsAssuming any cultured drink is interchangeable

Refrigerated and shelf-stable products are not the same

ODS notes that some products need refrigeration and others do not, and that live counts can fall during storage. That is why the storage line matters as much as the strain name: a shelf-stable product and a refrigerated product may be handled differently, and a label that says only “at manufacture” leaves you without a guarantee for the time you actually use it.

More CFU is not necessarily better.

The practical mistake to avoid is treating all probiotics as interchangeable. Read the exact strain, check whether CFU is stated per serving and through expiry, and match the form to the label rather than the marketing.

Which foods provide live cultures, and how much?

Foods that may contain live microbes

NIH ODS lists yoghurt, cheese, kimchi, sauerkraut, miso, kombucha, pickles and sourdough among foods made using microorganisms, but it also cautions that not all fermented foods necessarily contain probiotics with proven health benefits. That is the key shopping trap: a food can be fermented without being a standardised source of a studied strain or dose. NIH ODS consumer guidance

So the label matters more than the category name. A plain front-of-pack claim is not enough on its own. NIH ODS consumer guidance

What “how much” means on a food label

Food or food groupWhat the evidence supportsWhat you should not assume
Yoghurt or fermented milkThe EU’s narrow live-culture claim applies only when the product contains at least 108 CFU per gram of Lactobacillus delbrueckii subsp. bulgaricus and Streptococcus thermophilus, and the claim is limited to improving digestion of lactose in that product in people who have difficulty digesting lactose. Commission Regulation (EU) No 432/2012This is a condition for that specific claim, not a general probiotic dose.
Cheese, kimchi, sauerkraut, miso, kombucha, pickles, sourdough and other fermented foodsODS includes these among foods made with microorganisms, while warning that not every fermented food contains a proven probiotic. NIH ODS consumer guidanceYou cannot infer a single live count, strain identity, or a supplement-equivalent serving.
“Fermented” is a useful clue, but it does not tell you whether the food still has live microbes at the point of eating, or how many.

Food is not a substitute for a studied supplement

Food sources can fit a varied diet, but they are not interchangeable with studied supplement strains or doses. ODS says the useful details are the exact organism and strain, the viable count in CFU, and the storage instructions; by contrast, no general probiotic reference intake is established for healthy people, and the same food category can vary widely from product to product. NIH ODS consumer guidance

If you want live cultures from food, start with the label, not the marketing language. If a pack does not declare a live count or a specific culture, treat it as a fermented food, not as a standardised probiotic serving. NIH ODS consumer guidance

When are probiotics unsafe or worth clinician advice?

Higher-risk groups should not self-start casually

Probiotics are sold as supplements, but the safety picture is not the same for every person. The strongest caution in the reviewed sources is for people who are severely ill or immunocompromised, and for those with a central venous catheter or other serious underlying illness; the evidence also flags tube feeding and intensive hospital care as settings where rare bloodstream infections have been reported. NIH ODS safety overview

The FDA has also warned about potentially fatal invasive infection in hospitalised preterm infants, including one reported infant death in 2023 and more than two dozen other adverse events since 2018. That warning is specific to a vulnerable group, but it is a clear signal that “supplement” does not mean “risk-free.” FDA preterm-infant warning

SituationWhy extra caution is used in the sources
Severely ill or immunocompromisedRare bloodstream bacterial or fungal infections have been reported. NIH ODS safety overview
Central venous catheter or ICU careHigh-risk hospital settings appear in the reported infection cases. NIH ODS safety overview
Preterm infantFDA warns of potentially fatal invasive infection. FDA preterm-infant warning
Antibiotics or antifungalsODS says these medicines may reduce the effectiveness of some probiotics. NIH ODS safety overview

What side effects are common, and when should you get checked?

In healthy people, the reviewed source says side effects are usually mild, such as gas and other digestive symptoms. If symptoms are uncomfortable or keep getting worse, that is a reason to stop and ask for advice rather than assuming the product suits you. NIH ODS safety overview

Fever, worsening illness, severe or bloody diarrhoea, or persistent diarrhoea are not things to brush off. The HSE guideline says patients who are systemically unwell, have severe or bloody diarrhoea, or persistent diarrhoea over 5 days should be considered for clinical assessment and testing in specified circumstances. HSE infectious diarrhoea guideline

Do not treat a probiotic as a good fit for every medical history: the risk question changes with illness severity, devices, medicines and age.

Pregnancy and breastfeeding also deserve individual advice rather than a blanket yes or no. The reviewed official material does not give a universal recommendation for healthy pregnant or breastfeeding women, and it emphasises that benefits vary by strain and product. If a person has a complex medical history, the safest shopping step is to check with a clinician before starting, not after symptoms appear. NIH ODS immune function fact sheet

Safety and precautions

People who are severely ill, immunocompromised, have a central venous catheter, or are in intensive care should be cautious, and probiotics are also not a casual choice for preterm infants. If you are taking antibiotics or antifungals, pregnant, breastfeeding, or considering probiotics for children, ask a healthcare professional first.

Stop and seek advice if diarrhoea is severe, bloody, persistent, or if you feel systemically unwell. Mild side effects can include gas and other digestive symptoms, and the product should not be started casually when there is a complex medical history or a serious underlying illness.

Frequently asked questions

Are probiotics the same as prebiotics?

No. This article defines probiotics as live microorganisms, and it focuses on checking the exact organism name, CFU, and storage details. It does not describe prebiotics, so the two terms should not be treated as interchangeable.

Do probiotics have to be dairy-based?

No. The article mentions capsules, sachets, tablets, powders, liquids, fermented dairy drinks, and foods such as kimchi and sauerkraut. What matters is the strain, the CFU statement, and the storage instructions, not whether the product is dairy-based.

Can I get live cultures from food alone instead of supplements?

Yes, some foods can contain live cultures. But the article also says fermented foods do not automatically provide a standardised probiotic strain or a known live count, so you should not assume every fermented food is equivalent to a supplement.

Do capsule, sachet, and gummy probiotics work differently?

The article does not discuss gummies specifically. It says the form matters less than the label details: the exact strain, CFU per serving, storage conditions, and whether the count is given through expiry. Capsules, sachets, tablets, powders, liquids, and fermented drinks should all be checked on those same points.

Why do some probiotic labels list CFU at manufacture instead of at expiry?

Because live counts can fall during storage, a number printed at manufacture may not reflect what is still viable later. A count through the end of shelf life is more useful because it tells you the amount that should still be present when you use the product.

Sources

  1. INFECTIOUS DIARRHOEA – ANTIBIOTIC PRESCRIBING V2.0 (external link)
  2. EUR-Lex: Regulation - 432/2012 - EN (external link)
  3. Health claims - Food Safety - European Commission (external link)
  4. EFSA: A combination of LA 101, LA 102, LA 103 and LA 104 and intestinal discomfort (external link)
  5. EUR-Lex: Regulation - 1169/2011 - EN - Food Information to Consumers Regulation (external link)
  6. EUR-Lex: Directive - 2002/46 - IT (external link)
  7. Probiotics - Health Professional Fact Sheet (external link)
  8. Probiotics - Health Professional Fact Sheet (external link)

Read more

More in Supplements