Skip to content

Probiotics: What Are They and How Do You Choose?

Published · Updated · By Tigoo redaktionSupplements

Short answer

Probiotics are live microorganisms that must be identified by genus, species, and strain, and they need to be given in adequate amounts. To choose one, check the exact strain, the CFU count at the end of shelf life, and the storage instructions.

Quick facts

  • Probiotics are live microorganisms given in adequate amounts.
  • Effects are strain-specific, so the full genus, species, and strain matter.
  • Prebiotics feed microbes; synbiotics combine a probiotic and a prebiotic.
  • Fermented foods may contain live cultures, but they are not automatically probiotic.
  • Labels should show CFU at expiration and clear storage instructions.
Probiotics: What Are They and How Do You Choose?

What are probiotics, exactly?

The definition is narrower than many labels suggest

The consensus definition used by the International Scientific Association for Probiotics and Prebiotics, and repeated in the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements fact sheet, is: live microorganisms that, when administered in adequate amounts, confer a health benefit on the host (NIH ODS). That wording matters because a product is not a probiotic just because it contains bacteria or yeast; it has to be identified, live, and present in an amount that matches the evidence base (NIH ODS).

On labels, the useful detail is the full taxonomic name: genus, species, and strain. ODS says strain designation should appear on the label, and it also notes that probiotic effects are strain-specific and dose-specific (NIH ODS). In practice, a species name alone is not enough to tell you whether a product matches the strain used in a study.

TermWhat it is
ProbioticLive microorganisms given in adequate amounts and identified by genus, species, and strain (NIH ODS)
PrebioticNon-viable food components that serve as fuel for gut microorganisms; ODS cites complex carbohydrates such as inulin and fructo-oligosaccharides (NIH ODS)
SynbioticA product that combines a probiotic and a prebiotic (NIH ODS)
PostbioticDead, intact, or fragmented microorganisms, with or without metabolites (NIH ODS)
Fermented foodFood made with microbes, but not automatically a probiotic source because the strain and benefit may be undefined (NIH ODS)

What you are likely to see on a label

Common names include groups from the Lactobacillaceae family, Bifidobacterium, and the yeast Saccharomyces boulardii (NIH ODS). ODS also notes that some fermented foods, such as yogurt, can contain live cultures, while others may be processed after fermentation and no longer contain live organisms (NIH ODS).

If the label does not give a strain code, you still do not know whether the product matches the specific microbe studied.

That is the main practical dividing line: probiotics are defined by a named live strain, while prebiotics feed microbes, synbiotics combine both, postbiotics are not live, and fermented foods may or may not contain a probiotic strain at all (NIH ODS).

Which benefits are actually supported?

The strongest human data are narrow and product-specific, not class-wide. NIH ODS summarizes a 2020 AGA technical review of 63 trials in 15,712 preterm infants, where specific Lactobacillus and Bifidobacterium combinations were associated with differences in all-cause mortality, severe necrotizing enterocolitis, and time to full enteral feeds. That is evidence for particular strains and formulas in a specific population, not a general promise for every probiotic on the shelf.

Which benefits are actually supported?
The strongest human data are narrow and product-specific, not class-wide.
Outcome area What the evidence looked at Main limitation
Preterm infant settings 63 trials; 15,712 infants Specific combinations only; low-certainty and safety considerations
IBS symptoms 23 RCTs; 2,575 patients Modest effect; optimal strain, dose, and duration remain unclear
Cholesterol 30 RCTs; 1,624 participants Average changes were small and not consistent across reviews
IBD and obesity ODS evidence summary IBD findings are inconclusive; weight effects are small

What adults usually notice

For irritable bowel syndrome, NIH ODS reports a meta-analysis of 23 randomized trials in 2,575 patients in which probiotics reduced the risk of persistent or unimproved IBS symptoms by 21%. A later review of 35 randomized trials in 3,406 adults found effects varied by formulation, which is why everyday goals such as digestion, bloating, or bowel regularity should be treated as strain-specific outcomes rather than a guaranteed category effect. For cholesterol, ODS cites meta-analyses showing small average reductions in total and LDL cholesterol, again with results that depend on the trial design and product used. NIH ODS Probiotics fact sheet

Where the evidence is weakest

ODS says the evidence for inflammatory bowel disease is inconclusive, with only possible modest usefulness in ulcerative colitis and not Crohn’s disease, while obesity trials show small changes that may not matter clinically. That is the central caution for shoppers: one strain cannot be generalized to the whole category, because dose, strain name, study population, and duration all change the result. NIH ODS Probiotics fact sheet

In plain language, probiotics are studied as live microorganisms that may shift the gut environment in limited ways. So there is no generic authorised probiotic health claim in the EU: any product statement needs specific evidence and legal substantiation. EFSA scientific meeting on gut and immune function EFSA health claims

There is no blanket probiotic effect: the evidence lives at the level of a specific strain, dose, population, and outcome.

Which foods naturally contain probiotics?

NIH ODS says some fermented foods may contain live microorganisms, but others are processed after fermentation so the live cultures are gone; once that happens, the food is no longer a live source in the probiotic sense (NIH ODS Consumer Fact Sheet).

Foods most likely to still have live cultures

The clearest food example in the evidence is yogurt: ODS notes that it may contain live cultures such as L. bulgaricus and S. thermophilus, and sometimes added Bifidobacterium or other Lactobacillaceae (NIH ODS Health Professional Fact Sheet). ODS also names cheese, kimchi, kombucha, sauerkraut, miso, pickles, and fermented cider as foods that may contain live microorganisms, but it cautions that they may still lack proven probiotic strains or defined amounts (NIH ODS Consumer Fact Sheet).

That distinction matters because a food can be fermented and still not deliver a measurable live culture at the point you eat it. ODS specifically notes that some products are pasteurized or otherwise processed after fermentation, including commercially processed pickles and sourdough bread, which kills the live organisms and makes probiotic content moot (NIH ODS Consumer Fact Sheet).

How food counts compare with supplements

SourceWhat ODS saysWhat to check
YogurtMay contain live cultures and sometimes probiotic strains (NIH ODS Health Professional Fact Sheet)Strain details and storage instructions
Other fermented foodsMay contain live microorganisms, but often without proven probiotic strains or defined amounts (NIH ODS Consumer Fact Sheet)Whether the product was heat-treated after fermentation
SupplementsCommonly provide 109 to 1010 CFU per dose; some exceed 50 billion CFU (NIH ODS Consumer Fact Sheet)CFU count and storage directions

For packaged foods, the most useful labels are the ones that say how the product is stored, whether it is refrigerated, and whether it was heat-treated after fermentation. ODS also notes that food labels often do not give strain designation or CFU counts, which makes direct comparison with supplements difficult (NIH ODS Consumer Fact Sheet).

Which forms and alternatives make sense?

Live formats and what the label has to prove

What it does emphasise is more basic: probiotics are live microorganisms, and the product has to keep them viable until use. In the ODS materials, the main delivery forms are capsules, powders and liquids, with yogurts and other fermented foods also mentioned when they contain live microorganisms. ODS Health Professional Fact Sheet ODS Consumer Fact Sheet

Which forms and alternatives make sense?
What it does emphasise is more basic: probiotics are live microorganisms, and the product has to keep them viable until use.
FormWhat matters mostSource
Capsules, powders, liquidsLive count, strain identification and storage conditions determine whether the product still contains viable organisms at use.ODS Health Professional Fact Sheet
SachetsUsed in ODS trial summaries, but still dependent on the same strain, dose and storage details.ODS antibiotic-associated diarrhea review
Yogurts and fermented foodsMay contain live microorganisms, but probiotic status is not automatic and post-fermentation processing can remove live cultures.ODS Consumer Fact Sheet

ODS says labels should list colony-forming units at expiration, not only at manufacture, because viability falls over time. It also says some products need refrigeration while others are stored at room temperature, so storage instructions are part of the product description, not a minor detail. ODS Health Professional Fact Sheet ODS Consumer Fact Sheet

Yogurts and other fermented foods

ODS names yogurt, miso, kimchi, kombucha and sauerkraut among fermented foods that can contain live microorganisms, but it also notes that many such foods do not contain probiotic strains with proven characteristics. Some products are processed after fermentation, which kills the live cultures; others may contain live microbes, but the strain is not identified or the amount is not given in CFU. That is why fermented foods and supplements are not interchangeable just because both may involve microbes. ODS Consumer Fact Sheet ODS Health Professional Fact Sheet

Synbiotics and postbiotics

ODS defines synbiotics as combinations of a prebiotic and a probiotic in one product. It defines postbiotics as preparations of dead, intact or fragmented microorganisms, with or without their metabolites, that confer a health benefit on the host. Because postbiotics are non-viable, the question is not whether they stay alive in storage; it is whether the finished preparation is designed and kept stable as a non-live product. ODS also notes that there is limited systematic review evidence comparing stability across these formats, so its guidance is descriptive rather than comparative. ODS Health Professional Fact Sheet ODS Consumer Fact Sheet

How do you choose the right probiotic?

Read the label before you compare brands

The most useful label details are the full organism name and the CFU count. NIH’s Office of Dietary Supplements says a probiotic label should name the genus, species, and strain, and it should list colony-forming units, or CFUs, at the end of shelf life rather than only at manufacture because viability declines over time NIH ODS: strain identity and CFU guidance. ODS also says to check storage instructions, because some products need refrigeration while others are designed for room-temperature storage NIH ODS: storage instructions.

Label detailWhat to verifyWhy it matters
Full strain identityGenus, species, and strain, not just a broad name NIH ODSODS says probiotic effects are strain-specific NIH ODS
CFU countCFU stated at the end of shelf life NIH ODSViability changes over time NIH ODS
StorageRefrigerated or room-temperature instructions NIH ODSStorage affects whether the product stays viable NIH ODS

Do not use CFU as the only shopping rule

ODS says there are no official recommendations for healthy people and no established reference intakes by age, so there is no standard daily CFU target for healthy adults or children NIH ODS. It also says probiotic effects are strain- and dose-specific, so more CFU is not automatically better NIH ODS.

Pick the strain, dose, and duration that were actually studied for the same kind of user.

Match the product to the evidence, not the headline

ODS says clinicians should recommend strains, doses, and durations that have shown benefit in human trials NIH ODS. For a shopper, that means the clearest choice is usually the product whose exact strain is named and whose CFU and storage details are easy to compare with the studied use case and population. A label that is specific about strain and shelf-life CFU is easier to evaluate than one that relies on broad brand language or a large-number claim.

If a product needs refrigeration, make sure that fits how you will actually store it. If a label gives only a manufacturing CFU and no end-of-shelf-life figure, you cannot tell from the label how many live organisms it is intended to contain later in the product’s life NIH ODS.

How should you take probiotics?

Start with the label, then check whether the regimen was studied

NIH ODS says probiotic labels should list the strain, the CFU count at expiration, and the storage instructions, because viability declines over time. That makes the label the default for timing and use; if you are copying a studied regimen, use the trial schedule only when it matches the exact product and purpose you have chosen. NIH ODS Health Professional Fact Sheet

How should you take probiotics?
NIH ODS says probiotic labels should list the strain, the CFU count at expiration, and the storage instructions, because viability declines over time.

For meals, follow the product directions rather than assuming one rule fits every probiotic. The sources here do not give a universal with-food schedule, so the safest practical approach is to follow the package unless a trial-based regimen says otherwise.

Antibiotics are the main case where spacing matters

A PubMed review reported that bacterial probiotics should be spaced at least two hours apart from antibiotic doses. In the NIH ODS evidence review for antibiotic-associated diarrhea, studied regimens were short and structured: one capsule three times daily for 7 days, sachets twice daily for the length of antibiotics, or four capsules per day during antibiotic exposure; ODS also notes that some people started within 2 days of the first antibiotic dose. PubMed review on probiotic and antibiotic spacing ODS evidence review on antibiotic-associated diarrhea NIH ODS Consumer Fact Sheet

SituationWhat the sources showPractical reading
Antibiotic co-useAt least 2 hours apart; some studied regimens ran 7 days or through the antibiotic courseKeep the schedule separate and reassess at the end of the planned course
Home or travel storageSome products need refrigeration; others are meant for room temperatureStore the product exactly as labeled

Do not confuse temporary adjustment with failure

ODS notes that probiotic side effects are generally minor, such as gas, in healthy people. NIH ODS Immune Function Fact Sheet

If the product does not match your goal, if the label storage requirements are unrealistic for your routine, or if discomfort persists instead of settling, stop and ask for advice rather than forcing a product that you are not tolerating well.

Use the label first, and only copy a trial schedule when the study used the same product, dose, and reason for taking it.

What does Tigoo's current range offer?

As of the 2026-09-22 catalog snapshot, Tigoo lists 1 probiotic product in this category. That makes the range straightforward to scan, but it also means the catalog details need to do the work: for a probiotic, the key comparison points are the exact strain name, the declared amount, the pack count, and any storage note. The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements probiotic fact sheet says labels should identify genus, species, and strain, and should show CFU at expiration; the consumer fact sheet adds that storage instructions matter because some products need refrigeration.

What is actually listed

Only one item is present in the category, so there is no product-to-product comparison inside Tigoo's own range. Where a field is absent from the catalog, it is marked below as not stated in catalog rather than inferred.

Catalog fieldTigoo current listing
Product nameNot stated in catalog
FormNot stated in catalog
Strain(s)Not stated in catalog
Declared amount(s)Not stated in catalog
Pack countNot stated in catalog
Storage noteNot stated in catalog
For a single-item range, the best buying guide is the label itself: if the catalog does not state the strain, amount, or storage note, do not fill those gaps in by assumption.

How to use the label checklist here

Apply the same checklist you would use anywhere else: look for the full strain designation, the amount stated as CFU at the end of shelf life, the expiration date, and clear storage instructions. If Tigoo's product page later shows those details, they are the right fields to compare; if not, the listing remains too sparse for a meaningful side-by-side choice. The practical limit here is simple: with only one listed probiotic and no declared product details in the catalog, the page can tell you that something is available, but not enough to compare measured form or declared amount on a factual basis.

Who should be careful, and what side effects matter?

Most reactions reported are mild

Across randomized trials, probiotics have generally not increased overall adverse events versus placebo: one broad review reported a relative risk of 1.00 (95% CI 0.93–1.07), and a 2026 meta-analysis of Bifidobacterium animalis subsp. lactis BB-12 found no statistically significant difference in adverse events either (safety review of probiotic RCTs, BB-12 adverse-event meta-analysis). The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements describes the usual side effects as minor, such as gas or flatulence, and notes that serious problems are rare in healthy users (ODS immune function fact sheet).

One limitation is that many trials did not monitor adverse events in the same way, so “well tolerated” does not always mean every symptom was captured consistently (safety review of probiotic RCTs). That is one reason product choice should be more careful in medically fragile people than in healthy adults.

Who should get medical advice first

Rare but serious infections have been reported, including bacteremia and fungemia, and reviews also flag endocarditis, metabolic disturbances, immune stimulation, and possible horizontal gene transfer (systematic safety review, reappraisal of probiotic safety, risk review). The higher-risk groups named in the evidence include people who are severely immunocompromised, critically ill, hospitalized or postoperative, and those with central venous catheters; premature infants are also highlighted as vulnerable (systematic safety review, 2026 safety review). Neonatal guidance has also described very low rates of probiotic-associated sepsis in some settings, but it still recommends vigilance (UK neonatal probiotic guideline).

GroupWhy caution mattersPractical step
Severely immunocompromisedHigher vulnerability to rare systemic infectionGet clinician advice before starting
Central venous catheterBloodstream infection risk is a special concernDo not self-select a product
Critically ill or hospitalizedSafety varies with host profile and contextUse only with medical oversight
Very premature infantsNeonatal safety is handled differently from routine adult useFollow the neonatal team’s product-specific guidance

Drug timing and interaction cautions

Antibiotics can interfere with bacterial probiotics, and one review advised spacing them at least two hours apart (probiotics and antibiotics review). The ODS also notes that antibiotics and antifungals may reduce probiotic efficacy (ODS immune function fact sheet).

When a person is medically fragile, probiotic use is not a generic “yes or no” decision; strain, dose, host profile, and context all matter (2026 safety review).

In practical terms: mild digestive effects are common, but the reason high-risk groups need advice is the small chance of serious infection and the lack of one-size-fits-all safety data.

Safety and precautions

Most reported side effects in healthy people are mild, such as gas or flatulence, but rare serious infections have been reported in people who are severely immunocompromised, critically ill, hospitalized or postoperative, or who have a central venous catheter. Keep bacterial probiotics at least two hours apart from antibiotics unless a clinician tells you otherwise, and follow the storage instructions on the label.

Speak with a healthcare professional before use if you take medication, are pregnant, or are considering probiotics for a child. Very premature infants and other medically fragile people need product-specific advice.

Frequently asked questions

How are probiotics different from microbiome stool tests?

Probiotics are live microorganisms taken in adequate amounts and identified by genus, species, and strain. The body does not describe microbiome stool tests, so it does not treat them as the same thing as a probiotic. The label checks in this article apply to probiotic products, not to tests.

What is the difference between a probiotic and a starter culture used to make fermented foods?

A probiotic is a live microorganism product that is identified by genus, species, and strain and given in adequate amounts. The body also notes that some fermented foods are processed after fermentation and no longer contain live organisms.

Can a probiotic be suitable for vegan or dairy-free diets?

The body does not say whether a specific probiotic is vegan or dairy-free. It says probiotics can come in capsules, powders, liquids, yogurts, and other fermented foods, so suitability depends on the exact product. If you need a vegan or dairy-free choice, check the product details before buying.

Sources

  1. Probiotics - Health Professional Fact Sheet (external link)
  2. S i ifi i f Scientific requirements for gastrointe (external link)
  3. Probiotics - Consumer (external link)
  4. Probiotics - Health Professional Fact Sheet (external link)
  5. Health claims | EFSA (external link)
  6. Probiotics - Health Professional Fact Sheet (external link)
  7. untitled (external link)
  8. Dietary Supplements for Immune Function and Infectious Diseases - Health Professional Fact Sheet (external link)
  9. Safety of One of the Most Commonly Used Probiotic Strains: Systematic Review and Meta-analysis of Reported Adverse Events - PubMed (external link)
  10. Safety of probiotics used to reduce risk and prevent or treat disease. (external link)
  11. A systematic review of the safety of probiotics - PubMed (external link)
  12. Reappraisal of probiotics' safety in human. (external link)
  13. Current Concepts in Probiotic Safety and Efficacy - PubMed (external link)
  14. Probiotic Guideline (external link)
  15. Probiotics - PubMed (external link)
  16. Accounting for the health risk of probiotics. (external link)

Read more

Products related to this article

More in Supplements